Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Ben Folds Concert...

...so Monday night, Sal-Chick and I went to the Pagent and saw Ben Folds play. He was part of Ben Folds 5...they had hits such as Brick, Kate, Army. Click on Brick and then you'll be like....OH!!! I know them!!! Anyways, they broke up and now Ben Folds is on his own. He sings You Don't Know Me and a lot of other songs. Sally loves him and was sooo excited when he came on stage. It was a good concert because it was just him and his piano. He made up random songs all night long, interacted with the crowd and it was just pretty awesome!!! I think he kind of looks like Dana Carvy.


Kate Miller-Heidke opened for him. She has this hilarious song (click here to hear it) about her ex wanting to be her friend on Facebook...I was cracking up because if you're addicted to Facebook like I am then you know how true this song is. WARNING: Do not listen to this song at work or in front of children, the F-bomb is dropped a time or two...or three. If you watch the video, I was totally surprised because she did NOT look like that at all. She kind of reminded me of Kate Winslet.

Okay, I'm sorry this post is so blah and unconnected...I'm really tired and need some sleep...I'm still recovering from this weekend and the concert. The week is halfway over!!! YAH!!!

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Blog Stalkers...

...we all have them, they lurk around our blogs. Here is what Blog Stalkers look like:

After our recent slumber party, I realized I have Blog Stalkers!!! It's a good feeling because sometimes you feel like you post a great post, one that everyone will have a comment on, you post it...no comments...you leave it up one more day...nothing.

Here I thought I had only about 5-10 faithful followers that comment regularly but turns out I have more. So I'm calling all of you out...to all you blog stalkers out there, take a few minutes, leave a comment, say hey and then head over to the other blogs you stalk and leave them some love. It will be a nice boost for us all and give us encouragement to keep blogging.

PS
To the girls in the pic, I love you all and know I'm just busting your chops!!!

Sunday, September 27, 2009

Slumber Party...

...I just got home from a slumber party with the gals from high school and I...am...tired!!! I'm not used to staying up until 1am and no matter what time I go to bed, my body wants me to wake up 6am!!! It was an awesome time...good laughs, good talks, good food and, most of all, good friends!!! I won't go into all the details of the night because most of the discussion is not blog appropriate or memories from high school that brought tears to the eyes...yes, Kristal, you really said that!!! I also found out that aside from Kristal, the other girls are all dirty, little BLOG STALKERS!!! (another post on that at a later date). I will share some pictures and stories now and I hope you find them as funny as did!!!

The "gang from high school" as my dad likes to call it. From left:

Ashley-we met in Girl Scouts, Daisies to be exact and she still to this date calls my mom Ms. Vickie
Jess-(hostess with the mostess) met Jess in middle school and spent lots of time "driving around" with her (really, we just drove around but I think my date thought we were selling ourselves on the corner or something!?!)
Christina-pretty sure we met in 8th grade gym class and I'm also pretty sure that we both had some awesome bangs back then
Kristal-met in 7th grade when I asked her why she wrote "Speed" on her notebook and she pointed out where she wrote real small under it "The Movie"
Beth-met in 7th grade band (she played French horn, me tuba) but really sealed our friendship when she sent me a note with her split end taped to it

Prior to the slumber party, we had all been messaging back and forth about what kind of pizza to order which sparked a huge debate with the meat vs. veggies lovers. I brought Rotel so I made the Meat Lovers kind and the Meat Haters kind...in the morning, it was all Meat Lovers because there was hardly any left!

Jess just got married last spring. Don't ask but after dumpster diving (it was all Beth, Ash and Christina), they found leftover shower invitations so when Jess fell asleep, we posted them all over her house.


This is above the shower wall.



We also found sheets to write down our best marriage advice for the new couple. Early Sunday morning, Ashley and I completed them with quotes from the night and funny sayings. Jess-you have NO idea how many we did. I have a feeling you'll be finding those forever.
You girls are the best ever and I had a great time. Crazy how many chapters of life that we've all shared together and hopefully there are many more...

Friday, September 25, 2009

Mattie Memories...

...Matt and I stayed in tonight and had an awesome dinner. We started talking about when we first started dating and I thought I'd share some of those memories...

*After our first date, I got in my car and drove ahead of him for about 5 miles. I wouldn't use my phone because I thought he'd see me and I didn't want him to think I was gabbing about him. As soon as I saw him turn behind me, I immediately called one of my girlfriends!!!

*It started snowing during one of our dates where we exchanged one of our first kisses, after Matt dropped me off at my car, he got a ticket for driving crazy because he was in such a good mood! (He told that story-not me!)

*I still remember the first time Matt farted around me (I know gross!). We'd gone to see "Blades of Glory" and on the way back to my work where my car was, he said, "Excuse me! My butt stinks!"

*We'd only been dating about a month when a giant limb fell on my house, I worked late that day and met him for dinner. When I came home, the limb was gone! He'd cut the limb down for me and didn't even say a word all throughout dinner!!!

*Our first Valentine's Day together, which was only a couple of months after we started dating, I had to work that evening (I always volunteered to work V-Day bc I was single) so Matt surprised me by taking me to breakfast. I gave him a care package of brownies and friendship bread.

*February of that year, I went to SC to suprise a lady I used to work with at her retirement party and when they asked me if I was dating anyone, I wouldn't talk about it because I didn't want to jinx it. Same thing on my birthday, I refused to take pictures with Matt because I thought if we did, we'd break up.

*When it warmed up, we decided to go running one afternoon and I could tell Matt thought my pace was slow so I told him to go ahead and take off. About 10 minutes later, he was out of breath and walking. I just laughed as I passed him by!

Just wanted to share those fun memories!!! Hope this makes you all think about your dating days...I love you Mattie!

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Dog Advice Needed...

...you all know, have seen and have heard about our 100 pound black lab Shadow, right? Well, we first got him back in January 2008. When we got him, he had HORRIBLE manners!!! One of the first few weeks, we had him, we'd steamed a head of cauliflower and he got in the pot (without knocking it over) and ate the WHOLE THING!!! Another time, he ate half a cake I left cooling on the stove and don't worry, he's eaten plenty of Matt's dinners that have been left on the counter (Matt doesn't understand the concept of come-and-get it means RIGHT NOW!!!). After losing enough suppers to him, Matt and I wised up, we started putting things in the microwave or on top of it, you know, places that he couldn't reach. So after working with him for awhile, he stopped doing that, so we got brave and would leave stuff on the counter until we were done eating to put it away, all was well until last night...

...after a long hard day of work, I slaved away making meatballs (come on, meatballs aren't that hard to make...I'm just going for the dramatic effect) for some delicious meatball sandwiches. Matt calls me as he's rounding the corner and says, "Babe, I'm almost home!" I quickly make our sandwiches trying to surprise him...it had all the fixings...cheese, marinara, a little Ranch, a little Parmesan cheese...oh they were delicious! Matt comes in and heads to the bathroom to wash his hands while I go into the other room with my dinner. Suddenly, I hear it, the paws on the counter...thud, thud..."SHADOW!!!" He comes running into the other room right away LICKING HIS LIPS!?! I run in the kitchen and see Matt's sandwich split in half with half the meatballs gone (Shadow was in for a surprise though because I put a jalapeno in some of the meatballs). I...was...devastated...Luckily, I'd made plenty of extra so Matt still got his dinner but Shadow was in trouble.

I didn't think too much about it other than he just thought the smell was so good he had to taste it. Then tonight, I made bacon and tomato biscuits (we ran out of bread because someone thought they could eat all the hoagie buns with PBJ for snacks last night and I'm NOT talking about Shadow...nudge, nudge, cough, cough-Matt). So sure enough, we sit down to eat and we hear those paws...thud, thud...I yell at him and luckily, he didn't eat anything. Then someone came over to give us a bid on our bathroom, so we just put the dogs in the bedroom and as soon as we let them out, he went straight to the counter again, this time Matt looked in the kitchen, Shadow looked at Matt, Matt looked at Shadow, Shadow knew he was in for it and took off to the basement for his cage, Matt followed him and locked him up. I cleaned up the kitchen, took a shower and went to be the good mom and let him out, he beat me upstairs and sure enough he was up on the counter again!?!

So now I'm at a loss, I have NO idea why he's doing it, I haven't changed his food or how much he's eating, I don't know if its just because the things I cooked the past two nights had strong smells as opposed to pasta and chicken that don't have strong, delicious smells like meatballs and bacon. So any and all dog owners, if you have ANY idea why he's doing this or how to cure it (although we thought it was), please leave a comment and let me know! For the meantime, I guess we'll go back to cleaning up the kitchen and dinner BEFORE we eat.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Candace's Wedding...

...so I posted last week about our lunch date in Como. Well, it made me think back to Candace's wedding and how much fun it was so I decided to post about it. Her wedding was in July 2005 and it...was...AWESOME!!!

Here is Candace, Abra, me and Kristen being too cool for school with our shades on!

Okay, so the back story. One day back in college, I was desperately trying to get ahold of Candace (think pre-cell phone days). I tried her for about an hour with no answer. So I decided to call Chad's (her boyfriend now husband) fraternity house so I was scribbling on a pad of paper the fraternity's number, Chad's number, Chad's work number, etc...A couple of days later, Candace came over and was sitting at my desk and then she said, "Um...do you and Chad have a secret? Why do you have all his numbers written down?" It was hilarious and from that point forward, Chad and I call each other secret and joke about it. Truth though, Chad and I have kept some major secrets from Candace like when we planned her suprise birthday party!!! I love these guys!

Remember in my post about Como I said that the last time I was at Shakepeare's I was wearing a see-through shirt? Well, here's the pic to prove it and let's now look at that super short hair!

I also mentioned the girl who set her purse on a burner? Here's the prove of that picture...

So all in all Candace and Chad's wedding was awesome, they are awesome, we love hanging out with them and Candace and I have a good secret right now!

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

GOOOO Sharks!!!

...Saturday was Haley's first soccer game!!! Being the good aunt that I am, I made her team a sign. Here is my dad and I holding it during the game:

Here she is showing off her uniform.
Although they don't keep score, her team won and she did a great job!!! I'm sure I'll have many more games to go to!